The mission of the Centre is to support top-level research in mathematics with a special focus on training young scientists and fostering the development of mathematics in Ukraine.

The Centre was founded in 2022 by a group of mathematicians of Ukrainian origin with the belief that science and research would play a crucial role in the reconstruction of Ukraine after the war.

The Supervisory Board of ICMU consists of scientists, prominent figures in science and technology, entrepreneurs, public and political figures. The mission of the Supervisory Board is to promote the development of mathematical science in Ukraine by supporting Centre's project implementation and strategic planning of its activities.

The Supervisory Board meets once a year to review the report on the Centre's activities and discuss its plans for the future.

  • Image

    Jean-Pierre Bourguignon

    Chair of the Supervisory Board

    Nicolaas Kuiper Honorary Professor at Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques (IHES), Director of IHES (1994‑2013), President of the Mathematical Society of France (1990‑1992), and of the European Mathematical Society (1995‑1998), President of the European Research Council (2014-2019). Photo credit: J.-F. Dars.

  • Image

    Olha Budnyk & Fund of the President of Ukraine for the support of Education, Science, and Sports

    ex-officio member

    The Fund supports the advancement of talented Ukrainians in education, science, and sports aiming to restore, empower and strengthen Ukraine’s leadership positions in the world. Olha Budnyk is the Advisor of the President of Ukraine on the affairs of the Fund of the President of Ukraine for the support of Education, Science, and Sports.

  • Image

    Jørgen Ellegaard Andersen

    Founder and Head of the Center for Quantum Mathematics and Professor at the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science (IMADA) and DIAS Chair of Quantum Mathematics at the University of Southern Denmark (SDU)