The mission of the Centre is to support top-level research in mathematics with a special focus on training young scientists and fostering the development of mathematics in Ukraine.

The Centre was founded in 2022 by a group of mathematicians of Ukrainian origin with the belief that science and research would play a crucial role in the reconstruction of Ukraine after the war.

The planning of the Centre’s scientific activities is overseen by distinguished scientists from around the world. The Scientific Board makes decisions regarding the selection of the best proposals for organising thematic programmes, schools, and other events at the Centre. Additional experts may be involved in the evaluation process as needed.

  • Taras Banakh

    Ivan Franko National University of Lviv

  • Vladimir Drinfeld

    University of Chicago, winner of the Fields Medal 1990

  • Alexandre Eremenko

    Purdue University

  • Pavel Etingof

    Massachusetts Institute of Technology

  • Pavel Exner

    Nuclear Physics Institute of the Czech Academy of Sciences, Vice President of the European Research Council for the Physical Sciences and Engineering Domain(2011‑2014), President of the European Mathematical Society (2015‑2018)

  • Rostislav Grigorchuk

    Texas A&M University

  • Oleksiy Kapustian

    Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv

  • Volodymyr Mazorchuk

    Uppsala University, President of the Swedish Mathematical Society (2020-2023)

  • Yuliya Mishura

    Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv, member of the International Statistical Institute

  • Simon Salamon

    King's College London

    Representative of the London Mathematical Society in the Scientific Board of ICMU for co-ordination of the joint programme

  • Peter Scholze

    Director of the Max Planck Institute in Bonn, winner of the Fields Medal 2018

  • Mariya Shcherbina

    B. Verkin Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, Member of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, Member of the Virtual Ukraine Institute for Advanced Study

  • Dmitry Shepelsky

    B.Verkin Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine

  • Adam Skalski

    Deputy director of the Institute of Mathematics of the Polish Academy of Sciences in Warsaw, chair of the European Research Centres on Mathematics Committee of the European Mathematical Society (ERCOM)

  • Marcelo Viana

    Director of Instituto Nacional de Matemática Pura e Aplicada in Rio de Janeiro, Vice President of the International Mathematical Union (2011‑2014), President of the Brazilian Mathematical Society (2013‑2015)

  • Efim Zelmanov

    Southern University of Science and Technology in China, winner of the Fields Medal 1994

During the first year, establishment of ICMU was overseen by the international Advisory Board. In June 2023, formation of the Scientific Board of the Centre started on its basis. The Advisory Board consisted of Jean-Pierre Bourguignon, who later became the Chair of the Supervisory Board of ICMU, Vladimir Drinfeld, Pavel Etingof, Pavel Exner, Rostislav Grigorchuk, Volodymyr Mazorchuk, Peter Scholze, Adam Skalski, Marcelo Viana and Efim Zelmanov.